Discover methods for declining candidates, including email templates, selecting the appropriate sender and retracting a decline.
Enabling the decline confirmation modal
To use various decline options, first enable the decline confirmation modal in recruitment project settings (located under the dropdown arrow next to the project name). This will activate the decline modal window when you click the Decline button.
Setting up decline email templates
Setting up a decline email template can save time and ensure that declined applicants automatically receive an email. You can also delay the email and specify when it should be sent by selecting a date or number of days.
The decline email template can be set up per project or as a default for all your projects in the corporation settings under the Reply message section → To declined candidate/applicant.
You can apply your email templates to both manual and automated decline communications. Add them under your profile or in Template settings → Message templates, and select Usage area All or Rejection email applicant. After that, share them with co-workers, including your own. Read more about template settings in this article.
Leaving both templates empty prevents emails from being sent when declining applicants, giving you the flexibility to provide professional feedback or add a personal touch to your communication.
Editing or composing the decline email when rejecting
When rejecting an applicant, you can also edit the pre-set decline email template and set a delay directly within the decline modal.
If decline emails haven’t been set up in advance, use the email composition feature to select an available template or compose a custom message.
Choosing the sender
When declining candidates, you can choose whether to send the email from your own account or from a shared, branded company address. You can set a default decline email template at the project level in settings. If no project-level template is set, the default corporate decline email will be used. You can also choose the sender and template when declining individual candidates.
Managing Shared Sender Emails
Shared sender emails are configured globally in the system settings by a superadmin. To set up or modify shared email addresses, go to the System settings → Email → Domain → Shared sender emails. For more details, visit this article.
Setting an internal decline reason
It is possible to indicate the reason for the decline with an additional description. It's designed for internal use only and cannot be seen by applicants. This has to be added first in the System settings → Recruiting → Decline reasons. Read more about this option here.
Undoing a decline
You can undo a decline, which helps ensure no qualified candidate is accidentally removed from consideration, or re-engage with promising applicants if circumstances change. Access this functionality directly from the applicant drawer by hovering over the Declined status button, which will switch to the Undo button. The applicant's status will change from Declined back to Untreated.